Chicago Tribune practically begs someone to take 9th District seriously…

When issuing their official endorsements for the 2006 Congressional elections, the Chicago Tribune made a very strong statement on exactly what they think of Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky and her record as a member of the House of Representatives.  Here is the exactly what the Tribune editorial board had to say about the five term House member,

 9th District: We endorsed Democratic Rep. Jan Schakowsky in her last few elections, even though we disagree with her on many issues. But her style of unceasing partisanship contributes to the bitter atmosphere in Washington. She’ll bash Republicans on all matters, but when her husband Robert Creamer was sentenced earlier this year for federal bank fraud, she wouldn’t acknowledge he had committed a crime. She’ll rack up big numbers in this heavily Democratic district against Republican businessman Michael Shannon of Park Ridge, who refuses to take campaign contributions. The Tribune makes no endorsement.

I had determined that I was going to make a run for the House seat occupied by Schakowsky before I read this non-endorsement, but now that I have seen that the most respected news outlet in the Chicagoland area has given up hope that she would grow out of her partisan beginnings into a more mature representative of her constituents, I am convinced that I might be able to make a good run against my more experienced and better financed opponent.  I have no expectation of being endorsed by the editors of the Tribune, but I am going to do everything in my power to earn that endorsement based on my ideas and the professional manner in which I conduct myself as a candidate, which should draw a clear distinction between myself and Mrs. Schakowsky.

I am not interested in a partisan shouting match.  I am strictly looking for an idea-based campaign which provides 9th District voters with a sharp contrast between my vision for America and Chicago and that of Rep. Schakowsky.  I am convinced that once the reality of Schakowsky’s radical agenda is put before the voters from Devon to Dempster, it will be clear that the honorable Congresswoman does not have the interests of anyone but her MoveOn.org friends in mind when she votes on legislation in Washington.